Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Dear World, I Give My Word Baby Unto Thee

Come into this world on June the 8th, Year of Our Chaos 2020, fully formed of pen and tree, it is No Man's Land.

If you missed the release events we held yesterday, you can:
  • Rewatch the Facebook Live event where I talk about the book, show off my office space, and read from No Man's Land
  • Rewatch the Instagram Live event, where publisher Marie Hodgkinson and I chat about the book, then I do a reading (we really kick off about 8 minutes in, as we were shooting the breeze waiting for the audience to arrive)
I had fully planned to discuss "My Special Books" on the Instagram Live event, but we got so involved in the conversation (with wine), that it completely fell out of my head! I will instead blog about those books soon. 

No Man's Land is available on your favourite e-book platforms (Universal Link for all platforms), from Paper Road Press if you'd like a tree-book copy, or order it through your favourite independent book store and support local during the difficult pandemic times. 

Be tender with my baby. It's yours now. 

Cover art for No Man's Land. Two intertwined eels on a white background,
with a girl standing on the head of one.

Friday, June 5, 2020

No Man's Land Launch Events, Monday June 8

We're in the midst of hard times with the pandemic and state-sanctioned violence against black people in the US and against ongoing protest in Hong Kong. Strength, love, and support to my friends and all in the thick of it. Black Lives Matter. 

Life is difficult, but we must carry on, to carry the joy and resistance with us into a better future. 

Preparing for launch, round two. My New Zealand WW2 land girls fantasy novella No Man's Land drops this Monday, June 8, and we have launch day events planned across social media as in person events are still difficult.

For those in various time zones, here are the conversions:
  • Mon 10am NZT/Sun 3pm PDT/Sun 5pm CDT/Sun 6pm EDT/Sun 10pm UTC
  • Mon 1pm NZT/Sun 6pm PDT/Sun 8pm CDT/Sun 9pm EDT/Mon 1am UTC
  • Mon 7pm NZT/Mon Midnight PDT/Mon 2am CDT/Mon 3am EDT/Mon 7am UTC
Preorders are available from Paper Road Press and on major platforms. If you're in New Zealand, please consider ordering from your local independent bookshop to help support local.

No Man's Land Launch Event Details, including book cover of two intertwined eels on the background of the Southern Alps and river.






Thursday, June 4, 2020

Pride Month Storybundle Including Cinrak

It's Pride month, and Queen of Swords Press has curated a StoryBundle featuring queer authors and publishers. And Cinrak is included!

Pay at least $15 to unlock all eleven (11!) books, or add more to pay what you think the books are worth. Because it's a really good cause this StoryBundle is supporting: Rainbow Railroad.

Rainbow Railroad assists LGBTQI refugees who need to escape persecution and violence. It gives them the information and resources to leave countries where being queer means facing state-sponsored violence, and find safety and shelter elsewhere.

Enjoy a heap of cool queer books and support Rainbow Railroad with the Pride StoryBundle, available now. For more information, here is an introduction from curator Catherine Lundoff.

And remember: the first Pride was a riot against police brutality. We're not going back.

The Pride StoryBundle cover mashup, featuring covers of books by RR Angell, Ginn Hale, The Capricious Gender Diver Pronouns Issue, Nicole Kimberling, Craig Laurence Gidney, A.C. Wise, Heather Rose Jones, AJ Fitzwater, Melissa Scott and Lisa A. Barnett, and Andrea Hairston

Thursday, May 7, 2020

One Month Until "No Man's Land"!

As it says on the box! The promo train ain't stopping yet.

Yeah, it's a strange time to be releasing a book...let alone two within a couple of months of each other.  But all I can do is make the most of what's given to me.

My WW2 land girls shape-shifter novella No Man's Land is coming out on June 8. It's available for pre-order now from Paper Road Press, or a variety of e-book platforms like Amazon, Kobo, Apple Books, and Barnes and Noble (click through for those links). Also, order from your local independent book shop, especially if you're in New Zealand. Support New Zealand authors and support local bookshops - it's a tough time for the publishing biz.

I'm not saying that for me, I'm saying that for everyone in the NZ industry. Local publishing houses have taken a huge hit, and book stores have been shut for weeks over lock down. They're currently still closed to the public and taking online orders for shipment. Some of my favourites are Scorpio Books, Arty Bees, Unity, and The Women's Bookshop.

Things I've got coming up in May:

  • I'm attending the virtual Nebula conference, where I'll be on the Deprogramming Fat Hate in the Writer's Brain panel 
  • I'm attending the virtual Wiscon
  • I have a r/fantasy AMA on May 21
I'm in crossed fingers mode for a lifting of lock down restrictions before the end of the month, because a No Man's Land release party is pencilled in at Scorpio Books. I miss seeing all my booky people.

Cover of No Man's Land, a stylized blue eel and brown eel,
with the figure of a woman standing on top of the brown eel




Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Cinrak is OUT!

The Voyages of Cinrak the Dapper has launched! Onto the seas of Rodentdom, into the heart of the stars, deep into Whale Fall...

We're deep into the Very Strange Times, and the last few weeks have been A LOT all at once. Holding it together for a book release has been difficult, and I really feel for all the other authors competing through the virtual noise and trying times for the arts. I really appreciate all the support and love thrown Cinrak's way. As I say in the introduction to the book, it's about finding joy in the chaos, working our way through this together.

I have been all over the place, in the metaphorical and literal sense!

  • My attempt at a virtual release party didn't go as planned. I got Zoom bombed. Lessons were learned. Fuck those guys. Fuck Zoom for their terrible security. I guess it's quite special certain entities think now I'm a Loud Enough queer in the world I deserve to be harassed. Here's my middle finger salute - I'm not shutting up. Anywho, deepest apologies to the attendees of the party I couldn't bring back into the new private meeting. After collecting myself, we carried on and I delivered the speech, reading, and chat, albeit to about a third of the people who wanted to come. The party was recorded, and will be put up for viewing soon.

  • Speaking of recordings (arh arh. Come on, Cinrak is all about the puns), there's now a You Tube video of me reading from Perfidy at the Felidae Isles

  • Reviews! Charles Payseur at (Hugo nominated!) Quick Sip Reviews has given Cinrak a deep and nuanced read.

    "I feel that the collection does a great job of layering, of being a hope not to tell people they don’t need to work or to fight, but be that fuel to readers. To carry that fight further, reminding always that cynicism is no path forward."

  • Maria Haskins says in the Quarterly Short Fiction Round Up at Strange Horizons

    "This is escapist fantasy at its best: very queer, full of dazzling fun with a giddy sense of adventure[.]"

  • Nerds of a Feather's Questing in Shorts says

    "[I]ts core cast all have enjoyable personalities and quirks to watch, and Cinrak herself is a delight at the heart of it all."

  • Virtual cons! r/fantasy is running a quarantine Virtual Con over the next few months. Along with Alexandra Rowland, K.D. Edwards, and C.L. Polk, we talked Queer SFF.

    I have a solo AMA coming up on May 21.

  • Guest Posting! I was privileged to take part in Mary Robinette Kowal's My Favourite Bit with "Turn The Puns Up To 11".

  • On Cat Rambo's blog, I talk about how "Kraken's Are Friends, Not Food".

  • LGBTQ Reads had me over to talk about Queer Speculative Aotearoa New Zealand.

  • Nerds of a Feather let me play in the Six Books sandbox.

So Cinrak now belongs to the world. The journey has changed from Coming Out to letting my baby go and Be Their Queer Best for the reader that needs her. I'm also trying very hard not to be That Person watching Amazon ranks. Down with capitalism! Tax Bezos! Eat the rich! Return Amazon to the workers! Pirates say Unionize! But buy my book. From indie bookstores if you can, because they need our support right now.

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

Quick Trip and Promotion Update

As with all of life right now, my book release trip to Wiscon and the Nebula conference has been complicated by Covid-19. I have cancelled my trip.

I am sad and disappointed, but I want to keep my friends, family, and writing community safe - I'd hate to be a vector.

I am planning to hold over memberships and tickets. and go to Wiscon in 2021.

At this point, I'm pivoting to online promotion. If you'd like me on your blog or podcast talking about queer rodent pirates or shape shifting land girls of New Zealand's WW2, hit me up. Email address is in my ALL NEW Press Kit (see tool bar above), now with fancy Author Photos.

Wednesday, March 11, 2020

Cinrak Round The Town

It's just under a month (ahhhhhhh!) until "The Voyages of Cinrak the Dapper" is released, and here's a round up of some chatter round the town.

A.C. Wise says "It’s fun, it’s charming, it’s packed full of adventure and glittering prose." I've done an interview with Wise, which will be out in April. 

Maria Haskins liked the different approach to challenge: "To me, this explicit lack of A Giant Evil Foe, echoes one of the things I love the most about many Miyazaki movies: the ability to tell compelling and exciting stories without the need for death and destruction and bloody fights to the death."

Life Achievement Unlocked! Reviewed by Publishers Weekly! "This delightful diversion will reel in anyone in need of a quirky break from reality."

Use Good Reads? Add Cinrak to your To Read list

Cinrak is available to pre-order in e-book and paperback formats from a variety of retailers. Click through here to discover the most convenient for you.

And here's one that gave me a little thrill - Cinrak at Book Depository! Cough, I mean, death to capitalism, and give equal distribution for all art, but one has to work within while attempting to break the system. Baby gotta exist. 

I'm currently in Major Prep Promotion Mode, so there'll be lots of interviews and blogposts coming out from the end of March. 

Thanks for all the enthusiasm, pre-orders, and support lately folks. Baby's First Book Release is a strange and nerve-wracking time, especially in these very trying times. So here's a capy being chill.


A capybara, a large square faced rodent, sits with eyes closed as a butterfly lands on its head.