Tuesday, June 9, 2020

Dear World, I Give My Word Baby Unto Thee

Come into this world on June the 8th, Year of Our Chaos 2020, fully formed of pen and tree, it is No Man's Land.

If you missed the release events we held yesterday, you can:
  • Rewatch the Facebook Live event where I talk about the book, show off my office space, and read from No Man's Land
  • Rewatch the Instagram Live event, where publisher Marie Hodgkinson and I chat about the book, then I do a reading (we really kick off about 8 minutes in, as we were shooting the breeze waiting for the audience to arrive)
I had fully planned to discuss "My Special Books" on the Instagram Live event, but we got so involved in the conversation (with wine), that it completely fell out of my head! I will instead blog about those books soon. 

No Man's Land is available on your favourite e-book platforms (Universal Link for all platforms), from Paper Road Press if you'd like a tree-book copy, or order it through your favourite independent book store and support local during the difficult pandemic times. 

Be tender with my baby. It's yours now. 

Cover art for No Man's Land. Two intertwined eels on a white background,
with a girl standing on the head of one.

Friday, June 5, 2020

No Man's Land Launch Events, Monday June 8

We're in the midst of hard times with the pandemic and state-sanctioned violence against black people in the US and against ongoing protest in Hong Kong. Strength, love, and support to my friends and all in the thick of it. Black Lives Matter. 

Life is difficult, but we must carry on, to carry the joy and resistance with us into a better future. 

Preparing for launch, round two. My New Zealand WW2 land girls fantasy novella No Man's Land drops this Monday, June 8, and we have launch day events planned across social media as in person events are still difficult.

For those in various time zones, here are the conversions:
  • Mon 10am NZT/Sun 3pm PDT/Sun 5pm CDT/Sun 6pm EDT/Sun 10pm UTC
  • Mon 1pm NZT/Sun 6pm PDT/Sun 8pm CDT/Sun 9pm EDT/Mon 1am UTC
  • Mon 7pm NZT/Mon Midnight PDT/Mon 2am CDT/Mon 3am EDT/Mon 7am UTC
Preorders are available from Paper Road Press and on major platforms. If you're in New Zealand, please consider ordering from your local independent bookshop to help support local.

No Man's Land Launch Event Details, including book cover of two intertwined eels on the background of the Southern Alps and river.






Thursday, June 4, 2020

Pride Month Storybundle Including Cinrak

It's Pride month, and Queen of Swords Press has curated a StoryBundle featuring queer authors and publishers. And Cinrak is included!

Pay at least $15 to unlock all eleven (11!) books, or add more to pay what you think the books are worth. Because it's a really good cause this StoryBundle is supporting: Rainbow Railroad.

Rainbow Railroad assists LGBTQI refugees who need to escape persecution and violence. It gives them the information and resources to leave countries where being queer means facing state-sponsored violence, and find safety and shelter elsewhere.

Enjoy a heap of cool queer books and support Rainbow Railroad with the Pride StoryBundle, available now. For more information, here is an introduction from curator Catherine Lundoff.

And remember: the first Pride was a riot against police brutality. We're not going back.

The Pride StoryBundle cover mashup, featuring covers of books by RR Angell, Ginn Hale, The Capricious Gender Diver Pronouns Issue, Nicole Kimberling, Craig Laurence Gidney, A.C. Wise, Heather Rose Jones, AJ Fitzwater, Melissa Scott and Lisa A. Barnett, and Andrea Hairston